That Thing You Do

Yes, I’m a junkie when it comes to that movie and that song. Come on, how do you not root for Tom Everett Scott’s Guy  and Liv Tyler’s Fay? Guy pounds on those drums and transports me into the zone with him. 🙂

The more I watch the movie though, the more my favorite is Lenny. (Just MHO, but Steve Zahn stole the show.) Love the joy Lenny exudes whenever the band sings; how Lenny and every character (except broody lead singer Jimmy–y’all can keep him) are simply in the moment, fully caught up in the awesomeness of The Wonders’ experience.

Yep, that is I, all caught up in the not-to-be-forgotten Blizzard of 2016. The last humdinger to hit with this much (or more) was back in ’96. Got the best snow boots too: my kids’. They outgrew them but fit Ma perfectly, lol. Go figure.

Snow day 2016

Pauls car 2016
Hubby’s car ain’t comin’ out no time soon. Good thing we have another vehicle. 😉

Gear shift:

We’ve all got them. Some habit(s) strangely unique to each of us. No, it doesn’t have to be weird or something to be kept hush-hush.

I drink hot coffee through a straw.

People look at me like, “Whaaatt?”

How it started:

Mrs. Joanna’s students all know my coffee is “the most important meal of the day.” (And she never takes less than 20 ounces with her every morning.)

Being someone who tends to run late—there always seem to be long coffee lines in the morning—I got me a travel mug and started taking my java with me from home. (Dunkin Donuts stainless steel travel cup is awesome. It keeps liquids HOT.)

FullSizeRender (13)

At some point, I got a little scheeved from my lipstick layered on the container’s opening. I stuck a straw in there, got used to the action and now it’s the only way, lol.

So what’s That Thing You Do? What quirky habit have you picked up along the way? Which movie stops you in your tracks any time you happen to catch it?

Go for it. Watch the video. One time. You know you want to. You’ll be glad you did. (I just did–again. 😉 )

TTFN and have a great day,

Joanna

 

 

12 thoughts on “That Thing You Do

  1. I’ve never seen that movie. Can you believe it? But that thing I do? Hmm…I have lots of weird quirks I think. Like I can’t have a collar touching my neck. I don’t own any turtle neck sweaters.

    Like

    1. That movie is pure, feel-good fun–try to catch it when you can 🙂 Ah, turtlenecks: love ’em, as long as they’re made of cotton and not terribly high or snug. Can’t do wool anymore (unless it’s super cold out). Too bad. I have a green one I love and can’t wear anymore. 😦

      Like

  2. It’s probably good you drink coffee through a straw. Less teeth staining that way. Your dentist would probably approve!

    I eat M&Ms one by one, and I first crack the candy shell off with my teeth and then savor the chocolate. That’s weird, right?…

    Like

    1. Maybe that’s why my hygienist said she noticed a significant improvement in the whiteness of my teeth. 😀 (I’ll have to check the timing of that, lol.)

      Nope. Not weird at all. Makes the candy go further w/o increasing the calorie count. (I cut Trader Joe caramels in half or quarters).

      I took a lesson from Older Son that way: he was always a pretty skinny kid; liked few foods but did well with junk. He would nibble at potato chips, making one last forever.

      I do that now. Scrounge around the bottom of the cheese doodle bag for the tiny pieces, break veggie straws in half. Nibble at a piece of popcorn instead of pop the whole kernel at once. Have to have my junk, so I try to stretch it as long as possible.

      Like

Comments are closed.